Drones and dreams

Don't use your weapons, he said.
And I never got it.
If anything, he had all the ammunition; I was just trying to stay alive.
I used to pity myself in secret, mocking his position of power, 
never taking seriously his military metaphors.
 
A few years later, I'm learning about vulnerability.
About how we keep it at bay by constructing our personally protective walls,
sheltering us from hurt and happiness in equal parts. 
And it hits me how I've spent the last ten years perfecting the human shield.
Like oil and water, baby.
 
I am a preventative drone strike, 
nothing ever gets through. 
Lacking in precision, it takes out everything while searching for its target.
Annihilating threats and promises alike.
Leaving nothing where there was once something.
 
- Do you remember?
 

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0