The chicken and the egg, the writer and the word

Language speaks us, wrote Saussure and Foucault agreed. 
We do the talking, but it's the boundaries of our narratives that create us. 
"There is no outside the text", offered Derrida, failing to distinguish himself from the early (de-) constructionists.
 
Storytellers are created as their stories unravel.
 
I specialize in romantic dramas. 
Never a conscious decision, I simply ended up discovering the world like this.
Although there was always an emphasis on drama, as romance was always in short supply.
 
A love story is the work of alchemist magic.
Not the pink, fluffy hollywood kind.
The heavy, moist, yet fleetingly light stories tinged with passion and elusive depth.
Taking mundane moments and turning them into sinister omens.
A brief glance between strangers become a divine intervention or the fulfillment of ones destiny.
 
I write the word S E R E N D I P I T Y and there it is, insisting on its own being.
I erase and write W E L T S C H M E R Z and I feel it in the pit of my stomach.
This pressing burden of irrevocable sadness for all that will never be.
I think I am writing the world, yet Foucault reminds me that the world is writing me.
 
A good story takes you by the hand and nudges you along before you second guess your choice.
Choice? No such thing. 
You are the story now.
 
 
 

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0