Comfortably free.

Phantom pains? C fibre firing?
What about absence of phantom pains?
Does that mean there was nothing there to begin with?
If I cut it off and I feel nothing, what does that say about my judgement?

Yet, I've been holding on to that pathetic little rope's end for years.
Everytime it was about to slip through my fingers I grabbed it harder.
Never asking myself why it mattered, never questioning the importance of keeping something so broken.

And when I'd open my hand, I'd be bleeding.
Because inside that small stump there were thorns.
The more I held on, the more they pinched my fingertips.
I felt no pain, all I knew was the adrenaline that comes from fear of losing.

I never stopped to think whether I could really lose something that wasn't actually there.
And in a flash, the illusion was gone and so was the tiny rope along with its thorns.
When I open my hands the wounds have healed,
There is no pain, you are receding.

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0