love.actually (not)

Life imitates art far more than art imitates life.
When you think about it; love is nothing but a social construction. Before the 17th century people did not even make the connection between love and marriage. Since then, Love has been creeping into all aspects of our society. Its norms and principles made explicitly clear in the avalanche of love songs, romantic comedies, harlequin novels and other cultural phenomena. These are artificial norms. Images of what love is supposed to be. How it is meant to happen and what we are supposed to behave like. It is all rubbish- fake!

Now, don't get me wrong. I am a romantic, I am looking for Love.
But I do not believe in the kind of love that follows the rules. The first date with dinner and a movie. The right moment to say "I love you". The sacrifice of one and the abuse of the other.

I believe in two people finding each other. Basic human instincts.
A connection, a spark- happieness. The feeling of being a better person together with somebody else.
There's really no need for definition. Love, relationship, companions...Why is not happieness enough?

Marriage is a way of binding two people to their promise of love. Should a promise be more important than happieness?
Is double misery the lesser evil because it is a keeping of a long-lost word?
The upholding of personal pride?



So.
I believe in the pursuit of happieness. in being happy.
if this is with somebody else of by myself, so be it.
And may I have the sense and reason to appreciate it when I find it.
and not destroy it with my need to categorize it.










Kommentarer
Postat av: maaddälään

I belive categorization is a good thing! From the first meeting i simply know if i'm gonna hate a person or not...

2008-12-24 @ 19:37:26

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0