les temps sont durs pour les rêveurs

Autumn is my favourite time of the year.
Autumn is vanilla tea, Amélie Poulain, big cities and long walks with knitted scarves and gloves.
It is the smell of rain and wet leaves mixed with gasoline and the sound of the city.
heavy-scented incense and lit candles and hot cocoa.

Somehow, this morning I woke up in my feverish state of mind with my head full of memories of European cities, the sound of the coffee machines in Milan,  bohemian cafes in Strasbourg, sunset breezes in Cádiz and fika at Kulturhuset in Stockholm.

now I know that it is not simply that I have an obsession with cities (which I do), but because these places are connected in my mind to certain people that were emotionally tied to me at some point. And mostly because they are no longer tied to me, I spend a lot of time thinking about them.
And the cities come to represent all those lost feelings.

But cities are also fascinating per sé. They are the settings of great love stories; of random meetings of strangers who would have otherwise never met; the stage of thousands of opportunities to be found on street-corners, in cafés and in the dark hours of the night.

Les temps sont durs pour les rêveurs





















Playlist: A Song is a City; Eskimo Joe


Kommentarer
Postat av: Madeleine

Det här är ett fantastiskt bra inlägg!!! Ta INTE bort!

2009-09-17 @ 23:40:12

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0