close encounter with the Austrian Law

After one month of constant praise of the Austrian public transportation, it was bound to happen...

Riding on the tram after a nice afternoon in the city, I was completely unprepared for what was about to happen.
In between two stations, a typically Austrian looking man comes up to me with a badge and asks to see my Fahrschein (ticket).
Condifently I rummage around in my bag and hands him my MonatsKarte.
The Austrian man looks at me, sighs, and says :
- Det ist Falsch!
I fibble with the card, look at him in disbelief and start explaining that I assumed a month card actually lasts for one month. Instead of understanding my reasoning, he stares at me saying:
- But you stamped it on FRIDAY!!! (as if the day of the week makes it so much worse).
And, as if the humiliation and shaming in this public place is not enough, the man asks for my ID-card and breaks out in a smile and nudges his older, quieter collegue in the ribs.
- Sie ist von SCHWEEEEEDEN, schau mal, eine Schweeeeedin!! as if I am some strange and rare animal.

Next thing I know, they both take me off the tram and direct me to the nearest ATM, where I obediently give them 70Euro and have to continute my trip home on foot.
what a lovely Sunday afternoon.


Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0