United Collegues Against the Spread of Swineflu

No such thing as a boring day at the Un office in Vienna.
Today it is all about the swine flu.
When my intern collegue did not show up for work I did not think that much about it.
But at 11 o clock she asked me to come over and I found her halfway there in the corridor, 
telling me that this morning she had awoken as the ambulance staff came to bring her room mate to the hospital because of a suspected case of the swineflu.

Having checked with the doctors here at the VIC, she is fine and not in the danger zone, and so is probably her paranoid room mate. Would like to see the social system that can handle an entire population calling an ambulance because they have a fever...

Anyway, it is really interesting to see people's reactions when this topic comes up.
My collegue practically got kicked out of her office because the rest of the people in there did not want to get infected.
So now she's keeping me company, since I am by myself this week anyhow.
Just a couple of minutes ago we were down in the cafeteria and told another pair of friends about the story,
just to have them run away from us, yelling that we should talk later.
- social paria!
- corporate paranoia!


Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0